Oswalt Wins Class 1A Rematch With Eilert

Collin Oswalt of Hutchinson Central Christian won the class 1A rematch with Beloit-St. Johns' Caleb Eilert. It's Oswalt's second title in three years; Eilert has the other during that timeframe.

Collin Oswalt of Hutchinson Central Christian won a much-anticipated rematch with Beloit-St. Johns senior Caleb Eilert, highlighting the Kansas class 1A boys cross country championship on Saturday at the Sand Plum Trail in Victoria.

Eilert pulled what many thought was a surprising win when he unseated Oswalt as the class 1A champ last year. It seemed to stoke a fire in Oswalt, however, as he put together an undefeated 2020 campaign, including a class 1A best time of 15:44.02 in early October.

On Saturday, Oswalt - who also swept 1600 and 3200 meter titles on the track in 2019 -- raced out to an early lead and never looked back, regaining his perch atop class 1A distance running with a time of 15:56.8.

Eilert was a game competitor, however. He finished second in 16:19.9, which is a career-best for the senior. He caps off his 2020 season having finished no lower than second place in eight races, including five wins.

Reagan Bales of Osborne placed third in 16:43.2, just a second ahead of Olpe's Nolan Redeker (16:44.2). Blake Pierce of La Crosse rounded out the top five with a time of 16:46.6. Each of the top five finishers are seniors this season; Daniel Little of Jackson Heights, a junior, placed sixth in 16:49.7.

Meade rolled to the class 1A boys team title, scoring 30 points to beat runner-up La Crosse, which had 63. Quinter grabbed third with 70.

Freshmen Trent Roberts (12th in 17:28.5), Logan Keith (14th, 17:40.2) and Brock Keith (17th, 17:44.4) led Meade. Senior Vance Shewey closed out the team's scoring in 27th (18:36.0).

Quinter's top finisher was junior Eli Gruenbacher, who clocked 18:16.0 for 23rd place. There were only seven team scorers in the top 20 individual finishers.

In the girls' 1A race, Lincoln senior Jaycee Vath capped a remarkable high school career with her third consecutive state title. Vath ran a season-best time of 19:20.0 to win by 36 seconds over Doniphan West junior Elle Williams (19:56.1).

But Williams and her mates got a bit of revenge, winning the team championship over Lincoln. Doniphan West scored 42 points, while Lincoln was the runner-up with 54 and the Classical School of Wichita was third at 62.

It was the second straight state title for Doniphan West, which won by just a single point a year ago.

After Williams, Doniphan West's four scorers included sophomores Chloe Clevenger (fifth, 20:33.5), Claire Cole (11th, 21:33.4) and Alyson Gobin (45th, 24:51.8).

Following Vath, Lincoln had juniors Shelbie Ford in 20th (22:14.4), Raegen Stewart in 25th (22:47.5) and Alex Biggs in 47th (25:29.8).

Olivia Kenas of the Classical School of Wichita, a senior, was her team's only medalist, placing 19h in 22:12.5.

Also placing in the top five in class 1A girls were Golden Plains freshman Emma Weiner (third, 20:27.2) and Olpe senior Macy Smith (fourth, 20:33.4).